About Us

The Utah Medical Education Council (UMEC) was created in 1997 out of a need to secure and stabilize the state’s supply of health care clinicians.  The enabling legislation authorized the UMEC to conduct health care workforce research, to advise on Utah’s health care training needs, and to influence graduate medical education financing policies.  In addition, UMEC facilitates the training of healthcare professionals in rural areas of the state.  The state legislature expanded UMEC’s research responsibilities in 2013 to include nursing and UMEC has accepted the designation as the Nursing Workforce Information Center. The UMEC is presided over by an eight-member board appointed by the Governor to bridge the gap between the health care workforce industry and educational interests.

Utah Medical Education Council Page

Members of Utah Medical Education Council

Wayne Samuelson, M.D. (Chair)
Vice Dean, School of Medicine
University of Utah
Karyn Springer, M.D.
Intermountain Healthcare
Richard Allen, M.D.
Utah Health Care Institute
Mark Harris
School of Medicine
University of Utah
Amy Khan, M.D.
Executive Medical Director
Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah
Mary Williams, RN, Ph.D.
Public Member
Sue Wilkey, DNP, RN
Public Member
Paul Jackson
Public Member
John Dougherty, D.O.
Public Member

Program Statute and Rule